Marching Through Depression

     On my way to college this morning I thought about the word depression and what in meant to me. I have lived with depression for most of my life. I can pinpoint to feeling sad and all alone since the age of six. I was never formally diagnosed with depression until I was 37 years old.

Depression hurt and destroyed my inner being. I felt stuck in an empty shell of a human being. Through taking medication for depression I have found that I have a new and renewed spirit. I have hope today. I have my life back. The journey has had its ups and downs. For me the words depression mean WE PRESS ON.

Through life’s journey I have learned to press on. One life changing experience after another has led me to be the stong person that I am today.

I no longer am afraid to be alone. I have a higher power in my life. I have just touched the surface of living a life free from addiction. I am marching through my depression with both feet on the ground.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in depression. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marching Through Depression

  1. This is such a powerful and wonderful posing regarding dealing this dreaded sickness. What is unknown to most is that the individual is “not the cause of this sickness.” It is rather a chemical unbalance of the brain fluids. Take you for sharing your journey with us, as well as the blessings of having courage thru our Lord and Savior. I too, have been where you are.

  2. Excuse typo, should read “Thank You” and not “take.”

Leave a Reply

