May I Have Your Attention Please………

Your addiction requires your attention. You cannot go on blindly living out your addiction. You need to gain control over your urges to use. My addiction of choice is gambling. It is a hard addiction to break. I tell myself that the addiction is not my friend. I often fall into the trap of…..I know that I can handle my addiction. WRONG!!!!! My addiction handles me so passionately like a star struck lover. Many times I have walked the walk of shame after feeding my addiction. I want to breakup……but it isn’t so easy. I need a real life accountability partner. This individual can also be a sponsor. One of the first steps to recovery should be to find yourself a SAME sex sponsor. There is no need to get a sponsor of the opposite sex. This could lead to conflicts of interest of the passionate kind. What can a sponsor do for you? A sponsor is there to guide you through the 12 steps of the program. A sponsor is there to guide you through the difficulties of every day living. He will guides you through you moral inventory in step 4. A sponsor is a trusted servant of the program whether it be Celebrate Recovery or a twelve step program. A sponsor is someone you can trust to keep your information private. That is what makes sponsors work. Sponsors work because they work the program. They have the experience of being clean and addiction free. If you do not have a sponsor, please consider getting one to help you in your journey towards recovery.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Celebrate Recovery, Recovery journey, Sponsor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

