A Wasted Life

What have you been wasting your life on? I have been living a life full of hurts, hang ups, and regrets. My biggest regret was listening to my parents and going to school to become an RN. I wanted to go to school to become a journalist. Instead I listened to my parents and graduated from college in 1987 with a degree in Applied Science. I had to bite my tongue last night as nursing students were talking to the young teen moms about the joys of being a nurse. I wanted to say to the nursing students…..You have no idea about the pure hell that lies ahead of you. Here I am 48 years old and I am in the midst of returning back to school for a Master’s degree as a Speech language Pathologist. I am not doing it for the money. I am doing it because I cannot use my lt arm like I used to. I have a plate and twelve pins in my arm. I am proud to say that I am not a drug addict. I really ‘should be considering on how my arm was broken. I cannot go into the details…..It is too emotionally and physically painful to bring up past events. I am saving it for a book that I have finally decided to write. I have a publisher that is interested in my story. Will I ever become a published author? I have no idea. I just cannot stop believing that it will become a reality some day. Am I living in a dream world? No. My story should be filed under the Ripley’s Believe it or not category. Over the past three years, total stranger’s cannot believe my story. Only true believers in Christ know that my story is true. They have seen me in my darkest moments. They have walked with me in my physical recovery. These true Christians never abandoned me like my so called nurse friends of seventeen years. Maybe that is why I would never encourage anyone to pursue a career in nursing. It is a field filled with jealousy, lies, deception, addiction……You name it and a nurse has it. After all as the saying goes….Nurse’s call all the shots.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Courage, Encounters in recovery, Life Choices, Mentoring, New Beginnings, One Day At A Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

