Celebrating Motherhood

Every day is a celebration of Motherhood. Not Just one single day out of the year. Every day I am reminded of what it means to be the m other of four boys. Each child is in their own stage of being an adult to being a preteen. I celebrate each child for their unique abilities and talents. What one child wants and desires maybe totally different from the other child. I thank God each and every day for my boys. I was blessed at a young age to start my role of being a mother. Being pregnant at a young age inspired me to become a nurse. I started working as a Labor and Delivery nurse when I was twenty four years old. I retired from my job when I was forty one years old. My job as a Labor and Delivery nurse taught me that all life is precious. The most difficult times were when I took care of women who had lost their babies to stillbirth or miscarriage. In the back of my car lies a bag full of tiny crocheted hats. I have been wanting to donate them to the NICU of the local hospital where I once worked. The hats are big enough to fit one pound premature infants. I could never be a nurse working in the NICU or Nursery. I have been having difficulty holding babies over ten pounds due to my arm injury. This past Thursday I was able to hold a ten pound baby for a short period of time. My arm ached after awhile and I had to have the baby’s mother carry her baby out of my arms. It was a pleasant evening spent with teen mothers and their infants. I was able to help the mothers make shadow box crafts out of the pictures and items saved from their babies hospital stay. Life is about memories both good and bad. Any baby born on Mother’s day is a special blessing. Birth and labors of love add a whole new dimension to the word Mother.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Daily reflections, Gratitude, Life Choices, Meditation Of The Day, New Beginnings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

