The Words We Tell Ourselves

I cannot help but wonder about the words we tell ourselves. Are they good words or bad words? When was the last time that you spoke positive words to yourself or to another human being? Positive words go along way. The next time you want to speak negative words…..Stop and think about the ramifications. Negativity has no room in your life right now. How you choose to live is your choice and your choice alone. The decisions you make today will affect your life tomorrow. Where do you see yourself in the next five years? If you cannot answer that question, it is time to rethink where you want to be in life. You need to have short term goals and long term goal. It is just a part of life having goals is something worth looking at. For me all I can think about is getting through a surgical procedure that will hopefully give me back the function of my ulnar nerve. Today was the last day of physical therapy before I have surgery. It will all start back after surgery in June. At that point I will have a goal to recovery the use of my arm after surgery. It is simple as 1, 2, 3. All I want is to be able to complete five years of college without any complications. My life has been complicated by so many issues the past few years. What I have learned is this…… they are only temporary setbacks. My life is what I make of it. If I dwelled on the setbacks, I would be paralyzed by my fears. Life is meant to be lived one moment at a time. The challenges faced are meant to be just that…..challenges. If life was so easy it would be a breeze. Challenges help us to be overcomers. Life is about overcoming obstacles and learning how to survive. Each challenge that we face are different from one another. How we overcome each challenge is dependent on our self talk. What we tell ourselves will bring us to survive each challenge in a unique way. Individuals in recovery are the biggest overcomers. They have survived the worst that life has given them. They see their lives in a whole new different light. They have found hope once again. They have found new friendships that will develop into new support systems. The vocabulary of a recovered individual changes into a more positive and goal orientated one. Life takes on a whole new meaning. One that is worth living for.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Acceptance, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Life Choices, Living your dreams, New Beginnings, One Day At A Time, Purpose Driven Life, Random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

