Dealing With Resentments

A wise individual recently gave me the best advice……You just have to let it go. I wanted to tell him “I don’t want to let it go. I want to never forget.” Resentments can build walls around us until we isolate from those who truly love and care about our well being. I was asked to make a list of the individuals that I had resentments against for Celebrate Recovery. I cannot put it off any long. Tonight is the CR meeting. I have a really good reason why I did not do the assignment yet. But somehow tonight I will make a list. From that list the small group will be working on taking our inventories. I will write more about taking inventories in April. Resentments take away our sense of serenity. The Serenity Prayer helps remind me of what I need to do. It goes like this……God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.The courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference. Past resentments have no room in recovery. Resentments cloud an individuals way of thinking. Blame sets in along with self pity. When resentments against others are released, it is like a breathing in fresh air. We need oxygen to survive. Resentments are something that we do not need. Take the time to write in your recovery journal of all the things you resent. In order to get over your resentments, you need to face the resentments. Forgive, forget, and let go and let God.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Journaling, Let Go and Let God, Life Choices, Resentment, Serenity prayer, Slogans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

