Moving Past Unforgiveness

A recent topic in Celebrate Recovery was about forgiveness. I learned recently how important the act of forgiveness could be. Two years ago I let bitterness and unforgiveness into my into my heart. Last month I visited the friend I was having problems with. No words were necessary. I just knew that we had made amends. I found out this past Sunday that she had died. My heart was shattered into a million pieces. I have cried over the loss of the two years I was a part from my friend. I then thought to myself…. What if. What if I had never forgiven her and made amends with her? Sometimes making amends is impossible if someone has died. Write them a letter. Pour your heart and soul out in the letter and then burn it. Feel the release of bitterness, anger, unforgiveness etc. go up in smoke. Life is too short to hold on to resentments. The past is gone and all we have is today. The future is yet to come.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, Living through painful moments, New Beginnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

