The First Meeting….. Stepping Out Of Your Comfort Zone

Yesterday I talked to a church member about a new Celebrate Recovery Meeting that had started up at the church. The woman who was older than me said that she went to one meeting and never went back. Her comment peaked my interest. She told me that she was offended that the leader asked the group if they were enablers. I politely answered that Celebrate Recovery was more than just a meeting for enablers. She went on to say that she was upset that none of the other church members she knew sat by her. Right then and there I knew what was wrong. I told her about three other meetings in the area. She came up with the excuse…..”I cannot see that well at night.” I offered to drive her to the meetings. She declined and said ” I cannot stay up that late. I asked my bible study leader I she could start an afternoon group.” I really don’t think that Celebrate Recovery groups can be held in individual homes. Through listening to the woman talk to me, I realize that it is hard for her to step out of her comfort zone. I pray that this woman finds her comfort zone. Taking the first steps and going to your first meeting will be nothing like what this woman experienced. I personally enjoy going to meetings other than my own church. I like meeting total strangers. But just once, I may try out my church’s meeting. I challenge you to step out of your comfort zone. Experience Celebrate Recovery from a different perspective….Become a newcomer all over again.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

