Reaching Out To The Homeless

Today I met a homeless man named Tim at a gas station. His hair was matted and he looked older that he really was. He smelled. God only knows when he had a shower last. He sat on the concrete of a local gas station. I said “So what’s your story?” I knelt down so that we could be eye to eye. He told me about staying in a tent behind a local Walmart for the last five years. My heart strings were tugged. I asked him if the gas station would let him in the store if I gave him a gift card. He replied yes. I knew this gas station was safe just in case he was an alcoholic. Today I met a man name Tim who had a story to tell. I have met a few homeless individuals in my time. The most being in Chicago. But for the grace of God go I. This brief encounter has changed me forever.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Courage, Life Choices and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

