It’s My Pity Party

It has been that type of a week. Let’s throw a pity party week. No one knows better than me about throwing the biggest, baddest pity party. The worst part about it is this…..No one is invited to the party but me. That’s it in a nut shell. I have no right to expect anyone to want to come to that type of a party. But yet I want everyone who wants a piece of it to come to it. Come to my party the invitation reads. But no one comes. Who would want to come? No one that’s who. Yesterday I received a special letter after class. The letter was from a classmate who was 24 years old. It was the most beautiful card ever…….It started with I have been thinking about you and your son all week. Somehow I must have spilled the beans about the illness three of my sons Grandmother is going through. It is hard. Hard to see a woman go through that type of illness. No matter what the hurt you are going through right now…….Do not let it define you. You are not ________. I am not _________. But why do we let people think we are? The simple fact is you need to accept all that is good, bad, and ugly. Today is the first day of the rest of your life. What will you do with it? Wallow in self-pity? Absolutely not! You do not have either the time or the room for self pity. Self pity can lead you back in the vicious circle of self-destruction. In order to break free from this you need to find yourself the support that you need. Whether it is a twelve step program or a Celebrate Recovery Program. Make a decision to change your life for the better.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Acceptance, Celebrate Recovery, Change, Courage, Life Choices, New Beginnings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

