Reviewing The Gifts Of Recovery

It is hard to believe how fast this year has gone by. This past year has been a roller coaster ride in my recovery. I still struggle with issues but for the most part I consider my recovery a work in progress. There is a saying in twelve step programs once a ______ always a ________. Addiction lies deep within waiting to raise it’s ugly head. Recovery is always a gift. It is a gift that must be appreciated each and every day. Only you know what gift your recovery holds for you. Recovery opens up a whole new world of self discovery. Sure you can return your recovery anytime you want to. But…..Is living a life of addiction really worth it? A few days ago, a Salvation Army bell ringer felt the need to tell me his addiction. I told him to wait a minute for me to compose the words I wanted to say. On the side of the glass I saw the word balance. What happened next was a miracle. I said to him….”You choose your addiction because you are not balanced with your life. You have nothing else better to do than to think about your addiction.” He totally agreed with me. I gave him a gift of hope that night. Hope that he may somehow break his addiction by the grace of God. What gifts have recovery brought you? Recovery has brought new meaning to my life that total strangers can see.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Addiction, Addictive behaviors, Change, Courage, Gratitude, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

