Praying It Forward

Picture the R in recovery. When you add it to the word pay, you get pray. What have you been praying for lately? Do you feel stuck in a rut and cannot seem to get out of it? Try praying it forward. This is exactly what I mean by it. Try praying for others first. I have been doing this lately and have found a certain sense of acceptance. I accept the fact that my life could be worse than the person I am praying for. A few months ago I openly prayed in public for a woman with 4th stage cancer at a craft fair. Another vendor asked me if I was a healer. I can honestly say that I used to be in the medical profession. I gave up a professional career knowing what would lie ahead. I pray for the day when I can look forward to a new career. I find myself praying every night……God help me get through this. It’s hard to start something new all over again. Relearning how to live in a world full of hurts, habits, and hangups is hard. One key factor when praying for others is to listen. Listen to what the other individual has to say. The old me would have said……”Why should I have to listen to anyone? This is all about me.” I don’t hesitate to ask someone now if I can pray for them. When I can look beyond myself, I can pray it forward. Sometimes answers do not get answered. The woman I prayed for will be going into hospice. She had my business card and called me to wish me a Happy New Year. I guess it was her way of saying goodbye to me.I told her I would be glad to write her story down if she wanted me to. Try praying it forward for a change. After all……It feels good to pray.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Acceptance, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Prayers, Recovery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

