The Incident That Led Me To Celebrate Recovery

I wrote about the “incident” in my last blog post. Even before I went back to surgery I knew there was something radically wrong with the function of my arm. The surgeon asked me if I could move my fingers. I could barely move one finger. I was full of fear. Fear that I was permanently damaged and I was in a different way. It was then that I said two simple prayers. 1) Lord, I just want to crochet again 2) Let the authorities eyes be opened. Both of my prayers were answered. The most important one came first. I can crochet again. I have crocheted since I was six years old. That’s 44 years of crocheting. The moment my arm was shattered I knew that I had to do something different. I found Celebrate Recovery. Within the meeting walls I found hope. Hope that I could forgive the men who shattered my life. I can honestly say that I have reached a point of total forgiveness. I will never see the two men face to face to tell them I forgive them. The biggest person I had to forgive was me. I have learned if I didn’t forgive myself. I would be emotionally crippled for life. Life can either make us or break us. Celebrate Recovery has so much to offer individuals. What you will find there is up to you. When you go bring your brokenness. There is a healing unlike any other there. Take what you want and leave the rest as the old Twelve Step saying goes. You are always welcome at any Celebrate Recovery or any Twelve Step program.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 step progam, Acceptance, Celebrate Recovery, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Let Go and Let God, Life Choices, Living through painful moments, Miracles of recovery, Motivational, New Beginnings, Prayers, Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

