Stepping Outside Of The Box

Later tonight I will go to a performance in which I will be a part of. The first time I did open mic night was at a local coffee house. The owner “had” to sensor my poetry. It was not necessary. I tend to write from the deepest places of my heart. I recently stood in front of a table in college and recited a made up poem right then and there. The two young college students were impressed by it and told me to submit it for publication. Tonight will be totally different. I could recite poetry but I am not. I will have a younger audience to contend with. I will have to speak their language. I will have to step out of my box or comfort zone. That is what recovery is like. It is stepping out of the zone of addiction and getting into the zone of recovery. It is about taking risks and gaining a new found freedom. It is getting up and walking away from hurtful habits. Recovery is learning to live all over again. There is a peace and understanding that only recovery can bring. It leaves a shine on your face that makes people say…..There’s something different about you.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, Change, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Inspirational poetry, Life Choices, Living your dreams, Motivational, New Beginnings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

