Breaking Chains

I have been MIA. Just plain recovering. Surgery. Yuck . A necessary evil. I am still recovering. Life is full of recovering moments. I sometimes have to question the motives of non recovering individuals. Last night really made me wonder why an individual would be so curious. A fellow student in college asked me…..”So what did you get in that class last semester?” I replied an A. This was a class in which 31 students started but only 15 students finished. This was a feat that was earned on my part. I struggled with being angry at my fellow classmates. It was over the little things. I had to ask myself……How important was it? The only thing that mattered was asking the professor the right questions. I can only compare this to…….Asking God or your higher power the right questions. It is developing a personal relationship with the God of your understanding. As the saying goes……God will never give you more than you can handle. This is true. Being in recovery means that we have to learn to ask all the right questions. You must be willing to listen. There is a twelve step saying that goes…Take what you want and leave the rest. It is knowing when to let go and let God handle life’s sticky situations. God has the power to break the chains of addiction.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Acceptance, Celebrate Recovery, Change, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Let Go and Let God, Life Choices, Living through painful moments, Motivational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

