Think Forward To Fifty Years From Now

In fifty years, I might be dead. Yes, dead. I do not think I will make it to 100 years old. I want to live a recovered life. Yesterday I knelt down for one hour and talked to a 100 + year survivor of sorts. When I first started this journey, I thought that I would have nothing in common with her. She has helped me more than I have helped her. Her words of wisdom are amazing. Her stories are verified by her family. Some of my stories could never be verified. The stories were too deep and too dark to tell anyone. Somehow I survived. I recovered partially but not totally. I know that totally recovery in Celebrate Recovery is possible. The question is…….How bad do you want it? There has to be a strong desire. A desire to want more out of life than living a life of chaos and addiction. 

The following is from the Celebrate Recovery Bible NIV version. Proverbs 15: 21-24. Folly delights a man who lacks judgement, but a man of understanding keeps a straight course. Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisors they succeed. A man finds joy in giving an apt reply– and how good is a timely word! The path of life leads upward for the wise to keep from going down to the grave.

Life’s hurts, habits, and hangups can be buried. When that happens, you can arise a new recovered invidual. Take time to reflect on what you want to bury in your life today. Just do it. Uncover the truth behind what causes you to do the things that you do. Do you want the excess baggage in your life for the next 5, 10, or 50 years? Live a life free from hurts, habits and hangups. The choice is up to you.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, Celebrate Recovery Bible verses, Courage, Daily reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

