The Challenge Of Saying No To Social Media

I wish I would have saved the site but I didn’t. The Author wrote about being careful about what you put on social media. He brought up an interesting fact that what sites that people visited could be seen by him. The World Wide Web has changed the way we all live. Technology has changed. I recently gave my son my only iPad and bought a new one. I never realized that our iPads were synced until I noticed the pictures of his on my iPad. Times have changed. I questioned him about why he was following so many people. He flat out lied to me…..”They are all from school.” I responded don’t tell me there’s a guy with a beard in 5 th grade. I almost said…..I am stupid but not that stupid. What I realize now is that social media has taken things way over the top. Yesterday I heard on the radio of a 5th grade girl who committed suicide after a boy posted on FB that he wanted to kill himself ( he really didn’t want to). He even had an alternative FB profile. Another student knew about this boy’s plans. It all starts at HOME. Be aware of what your children are doing online period. No computers in the bedroom. What happens behind closed doors stays there. Reconnect with your children. Make no technology challenges. Reward good behavior. Punish bad behavior. At any given part of the day you can see individuals texting and driving. Sit down at a restraunt and see entire families with their heads in their phones. It’s time to reconnect with family. It time to celebrate being with each other every day.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Addictive behaviors, Change, Courage, Daily reflections, Deception and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

