Just Do The Hard Things

Life is all about doing the hard things. It is about saying go when your body wants to say no. The addict has no problem saying yes to whatever makes him feel good. But once in recovery it’s hard to do new healthy things. This can bring deep anxiety to an individual. A new friend told me……” It’s hard for me to ask for help.” I told her that it was ok to ask for help. Recovery is a journey that takes us to places we never dreamed of. You never know who you will meet on this journey. One thing is for sure…….You will meet very interesting individuals. Life is too short to let moments pass you by. I freely admit that I am an enabler. Lately I have been trying to break free of enabling a friend. I just couldn’t say no. But next month will be different. I will not make any more concessions or excuses. I will say……I am sorry I cannot help you. I am learning that I cannot help someone who cannot help themselves.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Acceptance, Change, Courage, Deception, Encounters in recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

