A Sudden Shift In Humanity

It has been on my mind lately……When did society change? What happened to common courtesy and being nice to one another? Last week I gave a donation to a woman going on a missions trip overseas. She hugged me and said “You have no idea how much this will help them.” I can just imagine how my money will be put to good use. A friend told me that there are lots of people to help right here in America. That is a true statement…….But once again comes a single word called APPRECIATION. Individuals in recovery realize and appreciate the second chance in life they have been given. I appreciate all the tools that I have been given to cope with my life’s hurts, habits and hangups. I have seen such disrespect and lack of appreciation. I see this the most in college. Self doubt kicks in and then I start to wonder…..Will I have a job when I graduate?  Yes!! Life experiences and knowledge has to count for something. Those individuals in recovery count their blessings. Individuals in recovery tend to appreciate what they have. Nothing is handed to an individual who is in recovery. Recovery takes hard work. I learned a key phase by a teacher in Clinicals. She asked this question to her students………What are you working for? I will ask you this question? What are you working for in recovery? I am working on serenity.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, Change, Courage, Daily reflections, Gratitude, Life Choices, Motivational, New Beginnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

