Dealing With Unacceptable Behavior

Dealing with unacceptable behavior can be difficult. It has been a thorn in my side lately. Jabbing and taunting me. Bringing me to the edge of yelling in a fit of rage. I refuse to go backwards in my recovery. I refuse to accept an individual’s unacceptable behavior. There I said it…….When I walked inside the house, I had a text that read……”Mom, Is that you in front of the house in the car with you lights on?”  Talk about role reversal.  I replied yes and that I was talking to a friend. I had no idea I was in front of the house talking to a friend for two hours. I guess I really needed to talk it out. I have allowed one individual ruin my serenity in a twenty four hour period. Never again! I decided to confront the individual who chooses to mainly text me. I texted them to call me. I felt that they needed to hear my voice. How can you fully express emotion by texting? You cannot. You have to listen with both ears. But sometimes the addict cannot listen to the pain they are causing their love ones. They choose to ignore the desperate pleas from those that love them. They cannot even see it. They are blind to the true nature of addiction. Addiction can be cunning and baffling and most of all unacceptable. The addict must first accept the fact that they have a problem. A total surrender must occur. A realization that addiction is a deadly disease that can tear down an addict to bare nothingness. This is not a happy place. It is a place of living hell. If it sounds awful, that’s because it is. There is hope in recovery. One unlike any other. There is true fellowship. New beginnings occur. New ways of thinking are formed. Recovery bring total transformation. Decide for yourself. Check out Celebrate Recovery or a Twelve Step Program. Your life will change for the better.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 step progam, Acceptance, Addiction, Addictive behaviors, Change, Courage, Motivational, New Beginnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

