Finding Our Voices

I cannot help but find my voice once again. I need to speak up when I am hurt by the actions of others. I need to be given the opportunity to express my hurts and hang ups to those closest to me. For the most part, I am able to do so. For the rest of the time, I have my time around the table to speak. Around the table we take turns expressing the steps or maybe even the topic of the day. No one is ever jugded around the table. Everyone takes their  turn around the table. There is happiness, laughter, joy, and tears all in one full circle. No judgement is passed around the table. Outside I feel judged. Judged for my outward scar over twelve inches long. I see the looks. I may even get the occasional …….. What  happened to you? I give the most simplest answer. I had an accident. If they get really nosy, I say that I am disabled because of it. No one asks me about my “other” disease. I don’t have to tell them about it either Only I feel it stirring deep inside me. It sleeps within me. I am learning to tame my demon called addiction. It is my hope someday  to express myself in the form of a book. Will it be a bestseller? It really does not matter. I just want to reach out to those who need it the most…….Individuals in recovery.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Acceptance, Celebrate Recovery, Change, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Life Choices, Living through painful moments, Motivational, New Beginnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

