The Encourager

The encourager as a happiness style is not my style. I found myself in what used to be an uncomfortable place…..A funeral home. Yesterday the words and actions of a grieving widow will stay with me for the rest of my life. Through her grief, she touched my heart and soul beyond words. I paid my respects to the deceased and then I saw it…….The smile on his face. There was no denying it. What did he see to cause him to smile at those final moments? I have no idea. Life is full of moments……good, bad, and ugly. Can we truly find happiness in all these moments? Yes! We must live through these moments. For it is the struggles and difficulties in life that make us stronger. The widow’s words……..”Now I will have to live one day at a time.” Those words those sweet little words. Those encouraging words. One day at a time. One Day At A Time is a slogan in recovery that is the basis of living addiction free. Slowly true happiness occurs. Addiction give the addict a false sense or euphoric state of happiness. True happiness is obtainable through twelve step groups or Celebrate Recovery. What side of happiness sounds better? I personally choose true happiness.

#TheHappinessDare

 

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Change, Daily reflections, Encounters in recovery, Gratitude, Motivational, New Beginnings, Random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

