Suddenly Stopping

Lately I have found myself, leaving the self destructive behaviors of others behind me. In the wake of their self destruction, they have been trying very hard to weasel themselves back into my life like a cold sore that never goes away. It is at this point that I must remember that…..I kicked them out if my life for a reason. Their negative actions spoke louder than their cut like a knife words. Two weeks ago I went balistic on the biggest leech of my life. I yelled and screamed at her on the phone. I needed a safe place to stay for a few hours. What came out of her mouth showed me her true colors. She thought I was going to sleep with her alcoholic husband. In all my years in recovery, I have learned that…..I just don’t want another person’s junk,  alcoholic or addict in my life. I would rather shut myself off from the world that to go back to my former pathetic individual of mass destruction. Addiction is a killer and so is enabling.    When we enable bad behavior, thoughts, or actions, we give power to the addict to use us. Those in recovery can still be enablers or  even codependents. The topic of codependents in recovery will be discussed in a later blog. For now remember this…..You can be free from the ties that bind you.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

