Finding The Support You Need

Fall semester recently restarted for me. On the first day of class I made amends with a 46 year old classmate but quickly retracted it in less than 24 hours. I am 5 years older than her. She has tried to destroy my reputation by telling another classmate that I am “scary” and that she should not be my friend or study with me. Keep in mind that the forewarned individual stated ” We are all adults here.” I absolutely love this 21 year old and her response. Life is about how we respond to people, places and things. Learn to recognize the triggers to your addiction. What are your triggers? How do you respond to them? Do you pick up the phone and call your sponsor? Having the support from another person in recovery is the key. We all need support in our recovery. This helps us to make rational and sane decisions. If you do not have a sponsor, take the time to find one. You cannot do this alone. Be brave and take the steps necessary to connect with someone that you feel the closest with. That individual should have a few years or more of experience in the program. Newcomers need the advice of    a seasoned individual in the program. Within the program I find comfort in knowing that, I am understood. No one knows me better than my Celebrate Recovery group. When outsiders falsely judge me in college, I know that a group of trusted individuals know me for who I am. That is Celebrate Recovery. Celebrate Recovery helps me to heal from life’s hurts habits and hangups.  

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, Courage, Encounters in recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

