An Uncomfortable Feeling

I recently signed up for a Celebrate Recovery meeting. What transpired next totally blew the rules of anonymity. A mass email was sent out with everyone’s name on it. Not good. I felt uncomfortable reading my name on the email along with the other names. It is not my right to let them know what happened. I may have to write a letter to the church leadership. I know why I go to meetings………To continue on my journey of healing from life’s hurts, habits, and hangups. The uncomfortable feeling continued last night when one of the leaders called me and asked me why I did not go to the meeting. That was totally wrong. I never made the first meeting. I told the individual the truth….Due to my college class being over at 7:30pm, I would miss over half the meeting. There is a part of me that still wants to go. But then I might be judgemental after the breach of anonymity. I will have to make another meeting. A meeting that is run by the principles of the program and not by the opinions of others. There is always the good, the bad, and the ugly. When you find the right meeting you will know. There will be a sense of belonging and of course……total anonymity.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Celebrate Recovery, Encounters in recovery, Random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Uncomfortable Feeling

  1. Terri R. says:

    I’m sorry you’ve had this experience bit I hope you stick with Celebrate Recovery. It truly is an amazing program yet run by imperfect humans. As for me, after many years of recovery, I no longer care about my anominity and share with the world the wreckage I was and how God has restored me to the woman He created me to be. I pray you find a CR group that you can feel safe and secure in. Blessings

    • Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. I might give a second look at one of the meetings I used to go to. I believe that there is a meeting out there for me in which I can feel safe and secure in 🙂

Leave a Reply

