Looking Ahead To A New Chapter

  A new year is just around the corner. 2024 will be a year to discover a whole new you. It will be a chance to look at Step 1 We admitted we were powerless over ______-that our lives have become unmanageable. There are so many things that we can be powerless over. I personally can name a few. This year I applied to be a peer coach but I wasn’t sick and in recovery long enough. I needed to be “sick” for at least 3 years. The truth is I have been six for 26 years. I have been shredding years of group worksheets. I saved a portrait of me drawn by a person in recovery. This year I’ll return to the old ways and write poetry again. Someday I might just become a published author. How will 2024 look for you? I plan on studying for the next 6 months for my LMSW exam. I do not have an accountability partner. I have to open up a new chapter in my life and not be afraid. I have to break free from the chains of despair. What lies beyond today? A fresh start for you and me. Never ever give up hope. Find your comfort zone within a meeting. Phone a friend. Sit at a recovery meeting and take in the words that are spoken. A new chapter in your life is beginning. Embrace it one day at a time.

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.