Romans 7:18-21

The following bible verse is from The Life Recovery Bible by Tyndale House Publishing. Romans 7:18-20 And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it. I have discovered this principle of life– that when I want to do what is right,I inevitably do what is wrong.
Step 1: We admitted that we were powerless over our dependencies– that our lives were unmanageable. Just like the Apostle Paul in Romans, individuals in recovery and who are addicted fall into acts of sinful nature. After all, sin is part of our human nature. When Christ died on the cross, he saved us from our sinful nature. Doing what is right in life takes hard work. Time and time again we may stumble and fall in our recovery. Realize that recovery is possible. The tools of recovery lie within the 12 steps. There must be a desire to change on the addicted individuals part. There are many addictions in this world. But for every addiction, there is the promise of recovery. Keep on pushing on. Don’t dwell on the past,live in the here and now. This is the greatest gift that you can ever give yourself.
In your recovery journal write down today’s day and the bible verse of the day. Here are just a few ideas that you can write about. Do you feel that living a life of recovery has been good for you? What made you decide that it was time to break free from your addiction? How has step 1 changed you?
If you need a Life Recovery bible and live in the United States, please check out http://astore.amazon.com/recover05-20

About recoverylife101

We all are connected in one way or another in this great big world. What connects us? Just being human. Come join me on the adventure of a lifetime as we explore the idea of leaving cherished legacies.
This entry was posted in 12 steps, Celebrate Recovery, http://astore.amazon.com/recover05-20/, Journaling, Life Recovery bible verses, LifeRecovery bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Romans 7:18-21

  1. Kenneth says:

    I have a small group that I attend. We are all Christians who are in recovery and would like to purchase a dozen and Recovery Bibles with the corresponding workbook.
    Please advise, as we are self-supporting.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.